I am interested in your experience with the Jabiru 3300 Gen 4

Hi all,

I am considering installing a new Jabiru 3300 Gen 4 in a CH650.  Any experience you can share regarding the Jabiru 3300 Gen 4 is greatly appreciated.  Your thoughts on this engine vs. a UL Power 350 iS is also appreciated.

I guess my real concern is the reliability of this Jabiru 3300 Gen 4.  It has been for sale since ~2019.  So, there must be some Zenith pilots flying behind this engine.

Regards,

Joe Thompson

Views: 2010

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have the gen4 on my Cruzer and I love it, Temps are great, I installed the Hacman value to control the mixture a little better and it's working good. John W. N10477

I have zero personal experience with the Gen 4 3300 (my 745 hr engine was built in the transition from Gen 2 to Gen 3 and has some, but not all of the Gen 3 upgrades), but I follow the Jabiru/Camit Engine Forum on groups.io and here is a typical comment (C to F temp conversions added by me):

I replaced a Gen 3 hydraulic lifter engine with a Gen 4 no 2862 in October 2019. It has done 230 hours.

It is almost a different engine. No SB’s or SL’s. Servicing is more about look and check rather than unbolt. Excellent compressions and easy start. No problem with hot starts. Oil consumption is low, but should still be changed every 25 hours. Cooling is stable and within limits. Hottest temp seen on a hot day (for the UK) is 175 deg C (347 F) on climb out. EGT’s are on the low side at 620 deg C (1148 F) with a fuel burn of about 20 – 24 litres per hour (5.3 - 6.3 gal) at 2800 – 2850 revs and 110 – 115 indicated airspeed in clear air and level flight. Oil temp is usually at or just below 80 deg C (176 F).

Dull but that is how I like aircraft engines.

Peter Knight G-PHYZ J430