Builders,

I have been flying my CH750 for over 5 yrs now. Have a Precision model vertical card compass that I have never been able to keep within 25-30 degrees of correct. I recently bought a new Air Path Whiskey compass and installed it with the same results. Got to researching a bit, and discovered the "degaussing" phenomenon with regards to the magnification of welded steel parts and its effect on a compass. I've read everything from where you can use a TV monitor-type degausser, to you must use a massive industrial degausser, to wrapping the cord of an extension light around your steel parts and leave the light on for 24 hrs will demagnify the steel.

Do any of you guys have any actual sucessful experience with degaussing steel parts in your plane you could share, and has anyone else had this same compass inaccuracy issue with their Zenith?

Jimmy Young

Houston TX

Views: 2009

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Just curious if you have ever performed a compass swing and used the adjustment screws on the compass to correct for any magnetic interference.

As long as your interference remains constant and doesn't change when other electronics are turned on or off, you should be able to adjust for it using a compass rose or a calibrated master compass which can be rented to you.

https://www.eaa.org/en/eaa/aviation-communities-and-interests/homeb...

Yes, I've done that procedure with the original vertical card compass. I can't remember the exact routine, but I do know when I get it dialed in N & S, then do E & W, when I go back to N & S it will be off again. It also varies in accuracy from day to day while flying, as in one day it may be off 30 degrees, and a week later its 20 degrees.

The fact that I have tried two brand new compasses with the same results is what makes me think I've got a magnetized engine mount or cabin frame.

Jimmy - Here is some data from Mooney for how they recommend degaussing the airframe.