I am a newbie and still deciding which low wing model to begin building when I was offered locally a partly finished CH 200 kit all plans and all parts still in tact. This kit was priced rather aggressively so it would become a rather cost effective way in. Thoughts? 

Views: 2919

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Dave,

These (CH200, CH250 and CH300) are older designs from Mr Heinz. They are VERY STURDY, some able to perform aerobatics easily. They are FAST and have a higher wing loading than the newer CH601nn series. My friend flies a CH250 and it is very nice; crisp and fast, pretty much what I used to fly. If you have experience with Cherokee (PA28-140/ PA28-160) you wont have any problem with the CH200/250 series planes.

The CH200/250 plane is not as forgiving as the CH601nn plane but not that difficult to fly either. Get some double with a low wing instructor; you wont regret it.

Finally, it requires a powerplant in the 120-160hp range otherwise it is too sluggish, borderline dangerous.

If the price is right, I would not hesitate.

Regards,

NormTheStorm

CH701sp, CH701SP, CH750

Thanks for the info I am leaning in that direction. Because I am planning on training in this plane would it be practical to do so?
Hi Dave,
Yes, it is always a very good idea to train in our own aircraft. Problem can be to find an instructpr willing/able to teach you in that plane. Remember, this is not a Cessna 150/172.
It may be difficult to find an instructor that knows enough the CH200/250 to teach you.
Also, you may find it difficult to get a test pilot to debug your plane. Also true for any experimental plane.
Do you know anyone with a CH200/250 plane around your location ????
It may be a good idea to have him look at your find to make sure it is well cnstructed so far...

Still, possible.
Regards,
NormTheStorm